Past Worker Co-op Awardees

A photo of four worker-owners of ChiFresh Kitchen standing on a stage with microphones in the background. The person on the left wears a white collared shirt and a navy suit, holds a certificate and a microphone and smiles into it. The second coworker on the left wears a long sleeve blue striped dress and their hair in a bun of braids and crosses their arms and smiles. The third coworker on the right wears a black blouse and leather skirt and the coworker on the right wears short black braids, a black collared shirt and a bowtie and a gold chain and points and smiles to their coworker with the microphone.


Para leer esta pagina en español haga clic aquí

Each year, the U.S. Federation of Worker Cooperatives Worker Co-op Awards recognizes a range of worker-owned businesses and cooperators at the forefront of the movement to create stable, empowering jobs through worker-ownership. Over the years, the awards have celebrated the worker-owned businesses and cooperators who are using their collective power to make our economy more just and our world a better place to live.

Here we present the Worker Co-op Awardees throughout the years:

2022 Awardees

Cooperator of the Year

Zenayda Bonilla

Co-ops of the Year

Alliance Collective – COVID Resiliency
PODER Emma – Commitment to Community
ChiFresh Kitchen – Essential Crisis Responders
Voces de Nashville – Language Justice Leaders
CLEAN Wash Mobile – Industry Disruptors
Collective Uprising LCA – Solidarity Economy Advocates

2021 Awardees

Cooperators of the Year

Maria Cruz, Ecomundo Cleaning Worker Cooperative – Cooperator of the Year
Catherine Murcek – Co-op Policy Advocate of the Year 

Co-ops of the Year

Ward Lumber Worker Cooperative – Legacy Co-op Conversion
tilde Language Justice Cooperative – Language Justice Leader
Union Technology Cooperative – Principle Six Cooperator
The Drivers Cooperative – Industry Disruptor
Boston Cleaning Collective – COVID-19 Resiliency
Action OSH LLC – Essential Crisis Responder
Third Root Community Health Center – Commitment to Community 


2020 Awardees

Cooperator of the Year

Emerging Leader in a Conversion: Clare Follmann, Orca Books, WA
Advocacy Torchbearer: Kirk Vartan, A Slice of New York, CA
Cross Sector Champion: Gregory Jackson, East Bay Permanent Real Estate Cooperative, CA

Co-op of the Year

Health Justice Champion: ActionOSH (NYC)
Emerging Worker Cooperative: Chi-Fresh Kitchen (IL)
Champion Advocate: Childspace Daycare Centers
Special Recognition: Opportunity Threads, Cooperative Home Care Associates, and The Industrial Commons


2019 Awardees

Cooperators of the Year

Kate Khatib  – Champion advocate of worker cooperatives
Adria Powell – Torchbearer inspiration for the movement

Co-ops of the Year

Mirror Beauty Cooperative – Social justice commitment
Brightly Cleaning – Innovation in the Movement
New School of Montpelier – Champion of the Movement


2018 Awardees

Cooperators of the Year

Yassi Eskandari-Qajar Champion advocate of worker cooperatives
Elizabeth Arredondo Long time commitment to & leadership within the movement
Mai Nguyen Torchbearer inspiration for the movement

Co-ops of the Year

Caracol Language Cooperative – recognized for their Social Justice Commitment
PV Squared – Long time commitment within the movement
Metis Construction – Emerging worker cooperative


2017 Awardees – No Awards

2016 Awardees

Cooperative of the year: Opportunity Threads, North Carolina
Cooperator of the Year: Rebecca Kemble

We thank all of the awardees for their dedication to their communities and to the co-op movement.